The Song of Amergin

Every month we form a circle at the new moon and honor the Spirits.  We meditate and one of us tells an inspiring story. Every moon we embrace one of the concepts from the song of Amergin, a song which invokes the forest, the sea, the sky.  There are many translations of this poem, here are only two of them and we are using still another slightly different version.

Am gaeth i m-muir,
Am tond trethan,
Am fuaim mara,
Am dam secht ndirend,
Am séig i n-aill,
Am dér gréne,
Am cain lubai,
Am torc ar gail,
Am he i l-lind,
Am loch i m-maig,
Am brí a ndai,
Am bri danae,
Am bri i fodb fras feochtu,Am dé delbas do chind codnu,
Coiche nod gleith clochur slébe?Cia on co tagair aesa éscai?
Cia du i l-laig fuiniud gréne?
I am Wind on Sea,
I am Ocean-wave,
I am Roar of Sea,
I am Stag of Seven Tines,
I am a Hawk on a Cliff,
I am shining tear of the Sun,
I am Fairest among Herbs,
I am Boar for Boldness,
I am Salmon in Pool,
I am a Lake on a Plain,
I am a Hill of Poetry,
I am a Word of Skill,
I am the Point of a Weapon (that pours forth
combat),
I am God who fashions Fire for a Head.
Who knows the secrets of the
Unhewn Dolmen?
Who (but I) announces the Ages of the Moon?
Who (but I) know the place where falleth
the Sunset?

I made our own translation into Dutch: Ik heb een eigen vertaling gemaakt, aan de hand van een gedicht dat de versregels weer net iets in een andere volgorde plaatste:

Ik ben het brullen van de branding
Ik ben de golf van de zee
Ik ben het hert van Zeven enten
Ik ben de rivier die de vlakte overstroomt
Ik ben de wind, die waait over de diepe wateren
Ik ben de dauwdruppel in de eerste zonnestraal
Ik ben de havik op de rots
ik ben een wonder tussen de bloemen
Ik ben de god die het licht in het hoofd ontsteekt
Ik ben de Speerpunt in de strijd
Ik ben de wijsheid van de zalm in de poel
Ik ben de heuvel van de poëzie
Ik ben de moed van het zwijn
Wie dan ik kent de geheimen van de
ongeschonden dolmen?
~ ~
Wie dan ik, is zowel de boom als de bliksem die hem treft?
In wie verlopen de fases van de maan
In wie zijn de plaatsen waar de zon op en ondergaat?
Wie is het die de gedachten voortdrijft
Wie is het die verzamelt wat verdeeld is
Zo niet ik?

Ik ben het, de eeuwigheid die voor de negende maal wederkeert.
(Amergin)

Listen to the song of Amergin as sung by Lisa Gerrard

Author: Vixen

Tarotist, Celtic Reiki Master, Spiritual writer, OBOD druid Fractal artist, Webdesigner, Webdeveloper, Photography,